Belleboss Interview Nicky Desilva

THE BELLEBOSS SERIES

P.S Don’t forget to click that subscribe button at the end of the page so you can keep up with all the latest Belleboss Interviews!

P.S Don’t forget to click that subscribe button at the end of the page so you can keep up with all the latest Belleboss Interviews!

 

64136665-78BF-4B2C-9DAA-E5100233EB2E

I hoped that with this series, I would find a way to appreciate the incredible South Asian women of our generation, who are breaking boundaries and paving new paths for themselves. Moreover, I would like you to take a little bit of your time to realize how incredible the women around you are.

Especially if you are a woman! I know that at least one woman’s story in my #BelleBoss series will inspire you to follow your dreams, your vision and most importantly your heart. Even if that means breaking a few rules and many societal prejudices along the way.

 Could you please give us an introduction to yourself?

My name is Nicky Desilva.

IMG_6646
My occupations are Designer, Model , Content and Video Creator & specialized in digital marketing. Currently my parents live in Watford, UK and my sister and I lives in Sri Lanka.We grew up in Ratnapura, Sri Lanka until I was 13 and my parents decided to move to England. Meanwhile during this time period we did travel and live in few other countries as well as my parents moved back and forth for work.
_DSC8486
I completed my high school at Ferguson High School in Ratnapura, Sri Lanka and at Canons High School at Edware, Harrow, UK. Completed Higher studies at St Mary’s college & Middlesbrough college, UK.
Soon as I finished my higher studies I did decided to join the British army and completed a full course with the British Army boot camp.

I did not join the army but growing up seeing my father  serving the Sri Lanka army and coming from that background it was amazing to get the experience in real life.

IMG_3472
Which places have you enjoyed travelling around in Sri Lanka and do you have any travel tips for people looking to travel around Sri Lanka safely?
Sri Lanka is so beautiful, I feel like every time I go to a new city it’s has it own unique beauty and own traditions and culture. However if I have to pick one place hands down I would definitely choose Mahiyanganaya! I know lately people forgotten about this beautiful city. But the city offers so much beauty, surrounded with breathtaking waterfalls and you must witness the sunset at the Sora Bora Lake! You  will get to meet and mingle with the Sri Lankan’s Wadda people! It’s sad to see this beautiful culture fading away. Last time I visited the I met the village chief Uruwarige Wannila attho and was even  privileged enough to take a photograph with him.

 I really enjoy spending a quality time with the nature and this place defenetly soothe my need.

IMG_4648
Here’s me standing right next to their very own radio station, YES you heard it right tune in to 95.4 every Friday to listen to non-commercialized, once-in-a-lifetime experience to mingle with the only indigenous, tribal community of the country!

Anyways coming back to your question of traveling safe in Sri Lanka , I strongly believe Sri Lanka is very safe to travel solo or not! People are very friendly and helpful.

But I think if you do your research properly before you travel and be wise enough to use the right places to stay you’ll be good to go! Internet always helps you to travel within the country. Even being a Sri Lankan I still use google maps! I would say transportation is very cheap in Sri Lanka, you can hire a Tuk Tuk and travel around the whole Sri Lanka and it won’t cost you a lot!
How did you start content creating?
IMG_0944
Ive began my  blog back in 2015, when blogging was taking off in a big way, but I definitely didn’t have as many successful online personalities as I do now. I do believe  that my community has gotten bigger, which is positive.
When I started doing this I didn’t even know what or how influencers could make money, I didn’t even know it could be a job. I love so many aspects of it, I love photography, I love exploring where I am so that inspires me to take photos, I love fashion, I’ve always loved fashion even when I had no money.

To be inspired by doing this job, you have to really love every aspect.’ 

How has religion and church shaped you in your life?
4254ca48-ec1a-4f42-a10f-3f6880dc38b9
Religion is a big part of my life. I grew up in a  non  Christian family background and  I would say I was more of an atheist back then. I never believed or had faith in God or any religion. 
My perspective on religion and faith changed 3 years ago, when I first went to my church. At the moment I am learning the word under Kirby De Lanerolle and Fiona De Lanerolle, and it shaped my morals and  how I think about things. I consider religion as a guide for how to live my life, not as a strict doctrine that I have to follow.’
Learning  the word has given me  a lot of self discipline and to see everything in life in a different perspective, and also feel better  it made feel special because I am not only learning a religion with my church comes a whole community that I now call my second family.
IMG_1524
Learning the word also made me overcome  my bad habits and and guid me to live a healthy life. Moreover, I do believe that it has impact me to spread positive energy to people around me.  I am very proud of the person I have become today thanks to my God.
.
What inspired you to become a designer?
IMG_3177

Everyone has different influences in their life to form their opinions about choosing a career.

I believe fashion has played a major role in my life since I was really small. I never really learned or compelled a course to become a designer. I believe one of the hardest areas for young designers like us to understand is that knowledge and skills don’t only come from a formal education, but can be soaked up from life around you. From traveling, reading, listening to music, learning other cultures lifestyles, these are the best ways to prepare for a design career. Being  fashion and lifestyle content creator really shaped me up to get started with my designing career.
What has been the best piece of advice you have been given?
5D7D9CA1-F0B9-4B17-A11D-5F21C0499EBC
Be slow to speak, listen and understand and speak when it’s necessary.
Could you tell us how you developed an interest in surfing?
Surfing is like dancing with the universe! Living in a breathtaking island you must at least try to surf once in your life!

Surfing is a great sport and it’s really fun and rewarding when you start really enjoying each wave. Surfing in the ocean teaches you to give up control and accept whatever wave Mother Nature sends your way. 

IMG_8221
Do you have any tips for new sri lankan bloggers who want to collab with brands?
I would like to suggest all my fellow upcoming influencers to be forward and reach out to as many brands as you can. You need to work with them for them to notice you. The worst you will meet is closed door which is a sign that one will open sooner!
What are your dreams and goals for the future?
My desire is to be like one of those encouraging teachers to you. I want to use my platform to spread the word of god and motivate my followers to see good in life and have a hope.
IMG_7321 as Smart Object-1(1)
I want to take Sri Lanka known as the most wanted travel destination visit around the globe through my platform.

I have already started my fashion label few years ago

Currently I am doing in online and showcasing my products at body fantasy. In the future I am hoping to have a small boutique shop to my self. Finally I hope to open a boutique store for my fashion label with a small cafe on the side and to have a beautiful family to myself.
This is the end of this interview . Please scroll down for links to more amazing interviews.
5368068D5BDF76C31CEBB147AE274AB7

 

Leave a comment