Bellebarbie- The South Asian Winter Barbie


https://www.googletagmanager.com/gtag/js?id=UA-133920596-1

window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || [];
function gtag(){dataLayer.push(arguments);}
gtag(‘js’, new Date());

gtag(‘config’, ‘UA-133920596-1’);

The First Installation of the Bellebarbie Series

A barbie to represent every South Asian girl-  coming out in 2019 to make all your dreams come true.

img_3442 as smart object-1

 

I have worked on this new project For a few months now and I am so happy to release the first in the series of the Belle Barbie project. This idea came to me after taking a little trip down Britney spears lane and then I fell into the rabbit hole of my 90s childhood- cassette tapes, Sabrina the teenage witch and of course Barbie dolls .

 

img_3272 as smart object-1img_3275 as smart object-1

 

Like every little girl , I had a few Barbie’s laying around ( I was more of a beyblade fan) and if I was honest with you I never saw the problem with their not being a Barbie which represented  me

img_3721 as smart object-1

img_3720 as smart object-1

img_3683 as smart object-1

In my 7 year old mind there was a pretty Barbie with blonde hair and a pretty Barbie doll with brown hair and that was diverse to me. 

 

img_3353 as smart object-1

img_3375 as smart object-1

 

It never occurred to me there should be a south Asian Barbie because of course I was a minority and I did not count. At least that is what seven year old me believed.

img_3437 as smart object-1

img_3477 as smart object-1

img_3431 as smart object-1

 

 

So I was kind of taken aback when I heard a discussion on “The Real” about how girls needed dolls which represented them such as African American dolls, Latina dolls , Asian dolls. They argued that the need for these dolls was to self-identify and feel self-love worth with. I wondered for a moment what 7 year old me would think of this because I knew what 21st year old me thinks.

 

img_3325 as smart object-1

img_3314 as smart object-1

img_3317 as smart object-1

I mean let’s be realistic … what would an Indian Barbie (because you know that is what all south Asian ladies come from, INDIA) look like? OF course I goggled it, let me show you  a video.

Yea , that is right… we are more than colourful outfits and bindis thank you. This got me quite conflicted about the whole thing… why are we always so desperate to tie our feminity with “our culture”.

 

img_3337 as smart object-1

 

img_3349 as smart object-1

 

You see it on instagram all the time- women who would never EVER wear a saree in their day to day life pose pictures in their cultural attire because that is what makes them feel beautiful and that makes them feel special. If that is you, then well I applaud you.

img_3408 as smart object-1

img_3760 as smart object-1

 

But not all of us are like that. For example, for the lazy chic who lives in jeans and wonder woman t-shirt … where is my south Asian Barbie representing that?

 

img_3461 as smart object-1

 

Instead of complaining and pinning for some sweatshop dolls to define diverse representation, I thought… why not make a series showing all the different life size Barbie’s to suit all the different personalities of south Asian girls.

These Barbie’s are going to be flirty and feminine like the “traditional Barbie’s” but most of all they are going to scream “fierce and fearless”.

img_3574 as smart object-1

img_3820 as smart object-1

img_3660 as smart object-1

No catch line like “curry scented b***** “ or spicy nutmeg lattes are better than vanilla (you do not need to be an a level lit major to understand that one) . No justifications of why we are beautiful as south Asians. No need to put down “other flavours” to make ourselves feel special. The pictures speak for themselves.

 

img_3534 as smart object-2

 

I do not know if our daughters are going to play with Barbie’s. ( Or son’s-  it is more common than you think) I do not know whether they will immediately reach out for that Caucasian Barbie doll, or the Native American inspired Barbie doll.

I don’t really care.

img_3540 as smart object-1

What I do know is, if they are my daughter their self-worth is not going to be attached to a piece of plastic because they are going to have their plenty of women in their lives (South Asian descent and otherwise) to show them that beautiful is within all of us.

 

img_3509 as smart object-1

img_3491 as smart object-1

We do not have to fit any standard because we are perfect anyway.

img_3814 as smart object-1

img_3817 as smart object-1

So for this first Barbie look book- this  is for the girls who wanted a winter Barbie doll ❤ for Christmas (I know it is Jan- but nearly everyone’s Christmas tree is still up, so let’s pretend) .

img_3483 as smart object-1

 

Thanks to the beautiful Ravika, I can practically imagine a Barbie doll being modelled after her.

img_379190 as smart object-2

 

 

5368068D5BDF76C31CEBB147AE274AB7

4AA182442C5F4D226BDF41205456A79B

kiss-mark-isolated_uztiyh

Leave a comment